Book Club Ideas

by margo

If you are looking for a good book for book club with lots of ideas then you can use Little House in the Big Woods.  I have just finished the book and there lots of fun things that you can do to feel like you are in their time.

The first thing that I would suggest is the butter.  In the old days Pa could not go down to town and get molded butter.  To make the butter they would put a marble in the jar and cream.  Then the girls would shake the cram until they could not hear the marble clanging agenst the jar sides.  In the winter and the summer the butter color would be diffrent colors because the cows in the winter wouldn’t get as much grass.  Eating grass changes the color of the cream. So Ma would put shredded carrots in the cream before the girls would mix the cream because Ma didn’t like the white butter.  Ma had pa carve out a butter mold.  The butter mold was shaped as a strawberry with strawberry leaves.  At your book club meeting you could shred carrots and make the butter.

Another thing they talked a lot about in the winter is the sugar snow.  Sugar snow was maple syrup   The girls loved the syrup/sugar snow. They especially loved the sugar snow in hard cakes.

My favorite part of the book was when the girls went to town.  I thought that it was funny that pa thought that Laura was being greedy for taking so many pebbles.   Later she thought that her pocket “ripped” out of her nicest dress which Pa bought her from the towns general store when pa threw her.  Later ma told her that it was the way that the dress was made and that she could fix it when they got home.  Laura knew that she had a lot of pebbles and that Mary had a few but she thought it was okay because the general store owner gave mary a better candy.

Laura thought since Mary got better candy it was okay for Laura could be rude to her.  One time my brothers were working in the kitchen and I wanted to help them.  When I was asking then where something was the other brother started mimicking me.  I thought that I could be rude because they were being rude and I had asked them to stop many times.  I then got in trouble for being rude.  I learned that even if somebody else is being rude, or gets what I want, don’t be rude because most likely you are going to get into trouble.  I think this would be good to discuss in a book club — How to control your self when you’re super duper angry at your sibling.  

Overall I like the book a lot and would recommend it!

3 thoughts on “Book Club Ideas

  1. Kathleen June 13, 2013 at 12:00 AM Reply

    Wow – you learned a lot from this book! I’ve learned things from your well-written blog 🙂 Those “Little House” books are so much fun!

  2. Jennie June 13, 2013 at 6:12 PM Reply

    Looks like a great read for the beach 🙂 So glad you liked it!

  3. Mrs. C June 14, 2013 at 12:45 PM Reply

    I am glad you are writing a blog. They are a lot of fun. I read all of the Little House books when I was your age. I enjoyed the series very much. I also thought the information about butter and the color of butter was very interesting. I have often wondered why butter sometimes looks white and now I know. I LOVE learning new things. Happy writing and I look forward to reading more.

Leave a Reply

