BLACKOUT

By Margo Age 9

Yesterday we had a blackout.  All the power went out.  We had come from the pool, and right when we opened the garage the power went out. It was totally dark.   Luckily we had stocked up on food at aldies so we had lots of food to snack on.  We snacked on sour cream & onion pringles while my parents tried to find somewhere with power.  This made it fun!!

When we found out that the power was totally out, we got our flashlights.  I knew exactly where my flashlight was.  Then we found Jack’s flashlight laying around in the office and I gave it to him.  Then I  went to look for Carter’s flashlight in his cubby, but there was one that we never found.

My parents finally found out that Danny’s BBQ was open.  We went there and ate like kings.  We ordered wings, spare ribs, chopped pork, potato salad, coleslaw, and baked beans.  Then we went to target and got some things.  I got gum, and the flavor is lemon square.  It smells so good that it makes my mouth water.

When we were driving home from Danny’s BBQ, we saw a police that was guiding traffic and we could see that a big pine tree had fell on a power line.  Then around 10:00 our power came back on.  Our mom went into all of the rooms and declared that the power was on again.  I immediately turned on my fan I was burning hot.  Then my dad went and checked all the lights.

Tips for being prepared in a storm

1. Have a flashlight that is not run by batteries.  I had a cranky flashlight and I didn’t have to worry about wasting the batteries .

2. Have food to snack on.  They don’t have to be healthy because it only for a little wile, and it doesn’t happen very often.

3. Avoid running if it is pitch black.  You might trip even if you have a flashlight. 

4. Don’t open the fridge

5. Have a back-up meal plan that doesn’t involve opening the fridge or using the stove.

What tips do you have?  Add them below!!

3 thoughts on “BLACKOUT

  1. adventuresinsoyland June 15, 2013 at 2:19 AM Reply

    Great tips! I would add try to not let your phone battery get to low since that was our main source of information!

  2. Kathleen June 15, 2013 at 8:38 PM Reply

    Good thinking – you are so prepared! We like having plenty of ice on hand – an extra bag or two in the deep freeze. It helps to have ice water to drink when the AC is off! I also like my little battery operated fan 🙂

  3. Jared June 17, 2013 at 4:21 AM Reply

    If the blackout happens in the winter then make sure you have enough blankets and fuel to stay warm. I think a blackout in the summer, while uncomfortable, is better than the winter.

Leave a Reply

