2013 Best Of — Books I read

photo (2)

Want to see my favorite books of all time?  Check them out here!

I think reading would fall into the category of “things I love and am not sure why I don’t do more often.”  Few things make me happier than a great book.  Crawling into my flannel sheets to read before falling asleep — divine.

Curious to see which books were among my favorites?

Here are the best books I read last year.

No easy day : the firsthand account of the mission that killed Osama Bin Laden A fascinating look inside the legwork required to track down Bin Laden.  And do I love that it was a woman analyst that sealed the deal?  Oh yes I do.

The Hunger Games Trilogy.  I know.  I’m like a decade late on this.  I think whoever classified these as children’s literature should be institutionalized, but I loved all three.  And shall we talk about how they slaughtered the MAIN intent of the first book in the film?  Oh the agony and ecstasy of book to film.  I hear the second movie is better, I can’t wait to see it.

Intimate Lives of the Founding Fathers I saw this in a bookstore on our trip to Philadelphia and checked it out of the library the week we got home.  An in depth look at the mothers, wives and girl friends of the founding fathers.

The Endurance: Shackleton’s Legendary Antarctic Expedition I initially read Endurance: Shackleton’s Incredible Voyage as a teenager and loved the story.  When my 6 year began re-reading his early reader about antarctic explorers over and over, I started looking for a book about Shackleton we could read together.  (the original had language not appropriate for a 1st grader: understatement) This book has amazing pictures and extremely dense language.  It required a bunch of summarizations and explanations on my part, but it was fun to read aloud to the little boys in the mornings, and by the end, Chase could do a pretty good retelling of their voyage across the icebergs. 

Still Alice Coming from a family with a history of Alzheimers, this read somewhat like a horror story.  A supergood, fresh read.  The ultimate question — would Alice have done the same thing as her husband, had the roles been reversed??  Who diverted from “the plan” him or her?? or was her husband the jerk he seemed or was that what original Alice really wanted?? Discuss!!

Heads in Beds I both loved and hated this book.  As a frequent traveler, it made me feel dirty staying in hotels.  My absolute favorite books are ones that provide a peek into and previously unknown (to me) world, and this fit the bill.  Do his suggestions work?  Would tipping the front desk agent $20 really get me a better room and wine?  I don’t know?! but want to try.

Dinner a Love Story As a mom who is quite devoted to a sit down homemade meal every day for dinner, I probably liked this book as it was 200 pages of affirmations? but I loved her stories, really like lots of her recipes and and her blog is one that inspired me to action.

The perfectly imperfect home : how to decorate & live well So many good ideas

Honorable Mentions — good reads

The Shoe Makers Wife An epic read about Italian immigrants.

The Kitchen House An eye opening read about slave families in the 1700’s

What great books did you read last year?  Suggestions??

6 thoughts on “2013 Best Of — Books I read

  1. Jennie January 3, 2014 at 12:32 PM Reply

    Great recommendations! I’ll be adding these to my list for 2014. Have you read Enemies Within? It’s on my list for 2014 and looks like something you might enjoy too!

    • adventuresinsoyland January 3, 2014 at 12:55 PM Reply

      No! I’ll have to read it. With 50 books I’m counting on you for lots of recommendations 🙂

  2. Kathleen January 4, 2014 at 9:17 AM Reply

    Charlemagne by Barbero – enjoyed it, not the best book ever read, but I try to read a new biography each year (a modest goal to be sure lol). Starting The Age of Reason by Thomas Paine.

  3. Laurel January 6, 2014 at 4:55 PM Reply

    I read several on your list this past year and loved them. Here are three favorite books from 2013. The Light Between Oceans by M.L. Stedman, The Rent Collector by Camron Wright, and Finding Frank by Nancy Horan.

    • adventuresinsoyland January 6, 2014 at 4:58 PM Reply

      I will put those on my list! I LOVE getting recommendations from friends and family, especially when they have similar tastes 🙂

  4. […] are my all time favorite book that I did not read this year, or are considered young adult fiction since I have a separate list for […]

Leave a Reply

