My Secret Weapon

Any time I can fill our plates half full of a green veggie and know it will be happily eaten – WIN.DSC_4616

I never though much about eating our broccoli this way until one of the kids came home from a friends house and said, “We had broccoli. And it was wet.” And they weren’t thrilled.

We can jam through the broccoli like pros at our house, because anything served with broccoli is a meal I feel good about (I’m looking at you, meatball subs)

Roasted Broccoli

Broccoli

Olive Oil

Salt

Preheat oven to 450°

Chop broccoli into bite sized pieces.  Drizzle with olive oil and toss to coat.  You want it fully coated.  Liberally salt and toss again. Spread in a single layer onto the darkest jelly roll pans you have.  Once oven has reached 450°, place in oven to cook.  Remove when bottom of broccoli is nice and golden, and edges are crispy, about 15 minutes.

4 thoughts on “My Secret Weapon

  1. Lauren February 1, 2014 at 7:32 PM Reply

    Mmmm, the brown edges. I make this all the time. Yum! I usually line my jelly roll with tin foil (easier clean up) – you think it takes away from it? I should try with out it and test it out.

    • adventuresinsoyland February 1, 2014 at 9:45 PM Reply

      Hmm, I wonder! Does the broccoli brown on the foil? As long as I have the oven at 450 they always brown by the time they are cooked. It isn’t too bad to clean since they broccoli is tossed in olive oil so it might be worth trying — though I need to employ the foil method on some of my other cooking 🙂

  2. Lauren February 2, 2014 at 7:49 AM Reply

    Nah – you don’t need to. A real cook never cuts corners. Foil is for the wimps! 🙂

  3. Kathleen February 24, 2014 at 6:57 PM Reply

    This is our favorite way to eat broccoli – and we learned it from you!!!!

Leave a Reply

