Snow Quote of All Time

IMG_0784

I think all of living in North Carolina during a snow storm was summed up in one quote today by a Durham County Sheriff Deputy, (as quoted on WRAL). And I need to preface this with the fact that they are talking about people abandoning their cars on streets and highways during a snow storm.

“What we don’t want to see is people leaving their cars in the travel lane, because now you’ve blocked that lane for everyone behind you,” he said.”

And while I’m with you on that one, the fact we need to get that out there…?  It did take Jared over TWO HOURS to make his typical 18 minute drive home, and it sounded like some drivers out there could have used some coaching.  I started the day out expecting the same, waiting for Godot, type of experience waiting for the snow to come as we had last time.  It was impolite enough to come while we were on our way to lunch, covering the roads while we ate.  We are so happy to now be all be safe here at home, with electricity, nonetheless!  Every pitter patter I hear of freezing rain on the roof, I cringe a bit, but for now we are toasty warm and enjoying the Olympics.

Since we do have a good chance of losing power, I wanted to have a good meal ready to go I could make on my stove top (it is gas, and if we use a lighter, works during power outages)

Click through to see what we dined on. It’s a Cafe Caturra copy cat!

One of my new favorite restaurant dishes is the Jerk Shrimp Tacos at Cafe Caturra. They are sublime.  It never occurred to me to try to replicate them until my sister in law, who is a fantastic cook, sent me a recipe for a cabbage salsa.  The exact thing I needed that I never knew I was missing.

Since I knew we’d all be home hanging out at home last night, I figured it was a good time for a slightly more involved dinner since we had plenty of time. This one involved three parts.

As written fed my hungry family of 6

Shrimp

  • 1 lbs shrimp, peeled and cleaned
  • 1 t olive oil
  • 1 T of jerk seasoning, OR Old Bay, OR other seasoning of your preference

place peeled and clean shrimp into a bowl.  Drizzle with 1 T olive oil and spices.  Toss to coat well. Place on heated pan, (or better yet a grill pan or cast iron pan if you have one) turning once, until done.

Cabbage Salsa adapted from Maria Garza Pico de Gallo

  • 1/2 head of cabbage finely sliced
  • 1/4 c lime or lemon juice
  • 1 jalapeno pepper or less to taste, finely diced
  • 1/2 red onion finely diced
  • 1/4 t salt, or more to taste
  • 1/4 chopped cilantro

Put all ingredients into a gallon ziploc bag and shake to coat.  Allow to sit in fridge several hours, or over night.

note: I used it just like this on chicken tacos and it loved it. To make it more like Cafe Caturra’s, I would stir in a tablespoon of sour cream just before serving.  I was going to try this and forgot.

Guacamole

  • 2 very ripe avocados
  • 2 T red onion, finely diced
  • 2 T cilantro
  • 1-2 T lime juice
  • 1 large tomato, finely diced
  • 1/4-1/2 t salt

Scoop out avocados into bowl and stir until very smooth.  Add remaining ingredients and stir until well blended.

To assemble tacos, in a corn tortilla, layer guacamole, shrimp, and then cabbage salsa (really pile it on, — I wanted more of it than I typically do lettuce) Add more tomatoes if inclined. Serve with black beans on the side.

Leave a Reply

